Back to the Future; Mets Return to First World Series Since 2000

By admin October 21, 2015 21:27
Picture Courtesy of Ron Vesely / MLB Photos

Picture Courtesy of Ron Vesely / MLB Photos

By Francisco Romero

The New York Mets had no mercy on the Chicago Cubs sweeping them 4-0 (best-of-seven) in the National League Championship Series.

The Mets beat the Cubs Wednesday night 8-3 for the right to participate in the franchise’s fifth World Series; the Mets won the 1969 and 1986 fall classic.

The only team in postseason history to overcome a 3-0 postseason deficit was the 2004 Red Sox, who were down 3-0 in the ALCS vs. the Yankees and came back to advance and win the World Series.

With Wednesday’s win, the Mets have won five consecutive postseason games dating back to Game 5 of the NLDS vs. the Los Angeles Dodgers, tying a franchise-long postseason winning streak of five games set from October 5-12, 2000.

Mets’ second baseman Daniel Murphy set a Major League Baseball record by hitting a home run in six straight postseason games.

Murphy won the National League Series Most Valuable Player for his offensive dominance.

Lucas Duda who drove in five runs also provided the offensive power from the Mets; Duda hit a three-run homer in the first to set the pace for his team.

The Cubs’ amazing season comes to an end as they could were not able to win a game in the NLCS.

The Mets never trailed during the series.

New York will now wait for he winner between the Toronto Blue Jays and the Kansas City Royals.

The Blue Jays won Wednesday’s game (Game 5) of the ALCS to come within one game of the Royals; Kansa City leads the series 3-2.

On the mound, Cubs’ Jason Hammel lost to the game after only lasting 1.1 innings; he allowed 5 runs on 4 hits.

Veteran Bartolo Colon took the win in relief.  Mets starting pitcher Steven Matz worked 4.2 innings allowing 1 run on 4 hits.


By admin October 21, 2015 21:27

Follow Us