32 Countries, One Trophy, One Champion: Germany Wins World Cup

By admin July 14, 2014 08:59

Warning: explode(): Empty delimiter in /home/arizonalatinos/public_html/wp-content/themes/allegro-theme/includes/single/image.php on line 35

Germany World Cup ChampionBy Francisco Romero

In dramatic fashion, in front of 74,738 fans, Germany won its fourth World Cup in a classic match against Argentina in overtime 1-0.

The lonely goal of the match was a beauty; it came at the 113th minute of play in Marcana Stadium. Mario Gotze stopped the ball with his chest and followed with a strong shot to the net.

“It’s an unbelievable feeling, I don’t know how to describe it. I just took the shot and didn’t know what was happening. For us, the dream has become reality. I’m very proud of the team and extremely happy about everything that has happened here in Brazil. Every player in our team deserves praised and we’re very proud to have won this Trophy,” said Gotze after the match.

Thousands of Argentinian fans inside Maracana Stadium and around Rio de Janeiro were hoping to see their favorite player Lionel Meesi and its team raise the World Cup, playing as close to its back yard as it gets.

Messi, Gonzalo Higuain and Rodrigo Palacio had clear chances to score, but the goal never came.

Germany’s goalie Manuel Neuer won the 2014 World Cup Golden Glove as the best goalkeeper. Messi was awarded the Golden Ball Award as the tournament’s best player. Colombia’s James Rodriguez won the Golden Boot as the World Cup’s top scorer. Rodriguez finished the tournament with six goals.

This was the third time Argentina and Germany have met in the final; the results have Germany ahead with two victories against one.

Germany and Italy have now won 4 World Cups; Brazil leads all countries with 5 World Cup victories.

The last time Argentina won a World Cup was in 1986 in Mexico City.

See you in Russia 2018!




By admin July 14, 2014 08:59

Follow Us